W Champions Cup: CONCACAF to launch tournament that offers route to Club World Cup

Sign up for Full Time, our weekly women’s soccer newsletter covering all things NWSL and USWNT

CONCACAF is set to launch a women’s tournament that will offer qualification for the new FIFA Women’s Club World Cup.

The CONCACAF W Champions Cup will be the first continental women’s tournament by the federation and follows the success of the W Gold Cup, which was won by the USWNT at the weekend.

The annual competition will start in August this year and feature clubs from the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL), Liga MX as well as those from across Central America and the Caribbean.

The draw for the tournament will take place in June, with preliminary and group-stage matches held across August, September, and October, with the semi-finals and final held in May 2025.

The main section of the tournament will feature ten teams in two groups of five after clubs from Canada and El Salvador play off to reach the group stages.

The other nine teams will comprise three each from NWSL and Liga MX, plus one each from Costa Rica, Jamaica and Panama.

CONCACAF president and FIFA vice-president Victor Montagliani said: “The W Champions Cup will provide a tremendous sporting opportunity for clubs in Concacaf, and we look forward to the first edition commencing in August this year, to crowning a first champion in May 2025, and to delivering an exciting pathway to the new FIFA Women’s Club World Cup.”



NWSL players to watch: One key factor for every team in 2024

(Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top