Quinn Hughes, Cale Makar, Roman Josi named NHL’s 2024 Norris Trophy finalists

Vancouver Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes, Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar and Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi have been named finalists for the NHL’s Norris Trophy on Wednesday, awarded to the league’s top defenseman.

Hughes led all defenders in assists with a career-high 75 and is only the third defenseman in the salary-cap era to score 70 assists or more in a season. The 24-year-old also led all defensemen in points with a career-high 92 while adding 17 goals and logging an average ice time of 24:41. Hughes, who is up for the award for the first time, also led all defensemen in even-strength points (54).



NHL awards watch: Nathan MacKinnon leads an extremely tight Hart Trophy race

Makar finished with his best season points-wise (90), just two behind Hughes for most among defensemen. The 25-year-old led all defenders in power-play points (39), just one more than Hughes, and in points per game (1.17). He led all Norris finalists in ice time (24:46). Makar has been named a finalist in four consecutive seasons and won the award in 2021-22.

Josi led all defensemen in goals (23) and power-play goals (nine) and led all finalists in even-strength goals (14) this season. This is Josi’s third time up for the Norris, having won in 2019-20.

San Jose Sharks defenseman Erik Karlsson won last year’s Norris after a 25-goal, 101-point regular season.

The nominees for the Masterton Trophy, awarded to the player who best shows “perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey,” will be unveiled Thursday. The Jack Adams Award for Coach of the Year will be revealed Friday. Connor Hellebuyck, Thatcher Demko and Sergei Bobrovsky were announced as Vezina Trophy finalists earlier this week, while Connor Bedard, Brock Faber and Luke Hughes were named Calder Trophy finalists.

Required reading

(Top photo of Quinn Hughes: Derek Cain / Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top